Mike Bones has made deep and deeply loved solo albums as a singer and guitarist, and with ad hoc supergroup Soldiers Of Fortune (Mexican Summer). The versatile instrumentalist has also played on albums by Cass McCombs, Endless Boogie and Run The Jewels. Weak Signal, the band he's put together with Sasha Vine and Tran Huynh, is his hardest and leanest group to date, the quality of the songs and music on this album is matched by the supreme style of the band members. Weak Signal represent a constant on the NYC underground... The trio's dark cinematic pop evokes late summer nights in the city, apathy and urgency, buzz guitars over garbage trucks. The range of Mike Bones' guitar suggests he's been lured by the sweet tone of Peter Green, as well as the metallic attack of Paul Reynolds (Flock of Seagulls). The rhythm section of Sasha and Tran, bass and drums, is the sound of summer thunder. A Weak Signal song gives more than it takes, rarely going past the 3 minute mark but just enough to convey they are a band to be experienced live.

Track List:

1.1 Intro - Really Gotta Run
1.2 Boy U Better
1.3 Dripping in Gold
1.4 Miami-Miami Part 2
1.5 Lying
1.6 Tell Me How You Like It
1.7 Haunting the Halls
1.8 Bitch I'm Your Baby
1.9 I Don't Miss You

Label: Mag Mag Records

Recently viewed