Skip to product information
1 of 7



Regular price $36.98
Regular price Sale price $36.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected 2/16/23

In 1971, the legendary founding members Stevie Winwood, Jim Capaldi and Chris Wood sojourned on after a smash outing with "John Barleycorn Must Die" and continued the winning streak with the groundbreaking classic "The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys." Along with new members Jim Gordon (Derek & The Dominoes), Rick Gretch (Blind Faith) and Rebop Kwaku Baah, Traffic was back and on a roll artistically unlike many other important acts of the classic rock era.

Known for more than its amazingly cube shaped album cover, the multi-faceted music inside was a non-stop enjoyment of sounds never heard or recorded since. Whether standout tracks from the pens of Jim Capaldi like the hard rocking "Light Up Or Leave Me Alone" or the powerful balladry of ancient sounds with the Winwood/Capaldi classic "Rainmaker", this brilliant album will most certainly be known forever for its classic title track, the massive twelve minute plus epic, "The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys." Filled with explosive sax breaks by the late Chris Wood, the piano driven and vocal delivery of master musician legend Stevie Winwood and the percussive vibrations of the late great Jim Capaldi, Jim Gordon and the late Rebop Kwaku Baah, the song was destined to become a huge success.

Even further classics ensued with each of the lengthy six tracks that make up this arresting about Rick Gretch and Jim Gordon's blazing smash "Rock n' Roll Stew" or the Winwood/Capaldi classic "Many A Mile To Freedom." No matter where you go with this album, it's all about Traffic, classic Traffic, and it just doesn't get much better than this.

Friday Music is no stranger to the dynamic catalog of the legendary Traffic, therefore we are very pleased to announce the super limited edition 180 Gram Audiophile Translucent Blue Vinyl release of their monumental classic "The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys."

Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso from the Island Records tapes at Friday Music Studios, "The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys" is a truly one of the most important audiophile vinyl releases of this year.

To further enhance your Traffic listening and visual experience, we are also featuring the Tony Wright designed cube shaped die-cut album cover!

Track List:

Side I:
1. Hidden Treasure
2. The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys
3. Light Up Or Leave Me Alone
Side II:
1. Rock 'n' Roll Stew
2. Many A Mile To Freedom
3. Rainmaker

View full details