Vinyl LP pressing. James Taylor is the self-titled debut studio album by singer/songwriter James Taylor. Released on December 6, 1968, it was the first recording by a non-British artist released by Apple Records, and would also be Taylor's only release on that label. The album was produced by Peter Asher, who was A&R head for The Beatles' newly formed label Apple Records. Taylor recorded the album from July to October 1968 at Trident Studios, at the same time as the Beatles were recording the White Album. Trident was the most technologically advanced studio in England at the time and was in high demand; some session time booked by The Beatles was used instead to record Taylor's album. Paul McCartney and Peter Asher brought in arranger Richard Hewson to add orchestrations to several of the songs and unusual "link" passages in between them. Notable songs include the Taylor classics "Something in the Way She Moves", "Carolina in My Mind" and "Rainy Day Man".

Track List:
1.1 Don't Talk Now
1.2 Something's Wrong
1.3 Knockin' Round the Zoo
1.4 Sunshine Sunshine
1.5 Taking It in
1.6 Something in the Way She Moves
2.1 Carolina in My Mind
2.2 Night Owl
2.3 Rainy Day Man
2.4 Circle 'Round the Sun
2.5 The Blues Is
2.6 Just a Bad Dream

Label: Capitol

Recently viewed