Vinyl LP pressing. "Every movement which has ever won anything has had songs," says Marc Ribot. With his new LP, Songs of Resistance 1948-2018, Ribot - one of the world's most accomplished and acclaimed guitar players - set out to assemble a set of songs that spoke to this political moment with appropriate ambition, passion, and fury. The 11-songs on the record are drawn from the World War II anti-fascist Italian partisans, the U.S. civil rights movement, and Mexican protest ballads, as well as original compositions, and feature a wide range of guest vocalists, including Tom Waits, Steve Earle, Meshell Ndegeocello, Justin Vivian Bond, Fay Victor, Sam Amidon, and Ohene Cornelius. Over a forty-year career, Ribot has released twenty-five albums under his own name and been a beacon of New York's downtown/experimental music scene, leading a series of bands including Los Cubanos Postizos and Ceramic Dog. Since his work with Tom Waits on 1985's Rain Dogs album, though, he is best known to the world as a sideman, playing on countless albums by the likes of Elvis Costello, John Mellencamp, Norah Jones, the Black Keys, and Robert Plant and Alison Krauss' Grammy-winning collaboration Raising Sand.

Track List:
1.1 We Are Soldiers in the Army - By Marc Ribot ; Fay Victor
1.2 Bella Ciao - By Marc Ribot ; Tom Waits
1.3 Srinivas - By Steve Earle ; Tift Merritt
2.1 How to Walk in Freedom - By Marc Ribot, Sam Amidon ; Fay Victor
2.2 Rata de Dos Patas - By Marc Ribot ; Ohene Cornelius
2.3 The Militant Ecologist (Based on Fischia II Vento) - By Marc Ribot ; Meshell Ndegeocello
3.1 The Big Fool
3.2 Ain't Gonna Let Them Turn Us Round - By Marc Ribot, Steve Earle ; Tift Merritt
4.1 John Brown - By Marc Ribot ; Fay Victor
4.2 Knock That Statue Down - By Marc Ribot ; Syd Straw
4.3 We'll Never Turn Back - By Marc Ribot, Justin Vivian Bond ; Domenica Fossati

Label: Epitaph

Recently viewed