Skip to product information
1 of 2



Regular price $28.98
Regular price Sale price $28.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected: 11/04/22

"There's a certain winking resignation to the title of Nick Lowe's At My Age, as if it were designed to be spoken with a soft, knowing sigh. Recorded in his late fifties, Lowe is hardly running away from his advancing years - quite the contrary, the singer/songwriter is comfortable in his skin and his years. Certainly, he's comfortable in his music, since At My Age marks the fourth time that he's mined the intimate, well-worn country-rock vibe of The Impossible Bird, and if at this point it no longer is a revelation, it's hardly lost its appeal, either. Part of that lies in Lowe's ever-potent charm, and to overlook an album as exquisitely crafted as At My Age is to be a fool, because nobody does this kind of relaxed Americana as well as Lowe, who is still writing songs that stand proudly alongside his previous classics. For instance, there's 'I Trained Her to Love Me,' a song as wickedly witty and bitterly self-loathing as 'Cruel to Be Kind' or 'The Beast in Me,' a tune that's balanced by the wry new-love anthem 'Hope for Us All,' which has its share of gently funny lines but is nevertheless a ringing, sincere endorsement of love, worthy of the man who wrote '(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding?' And that's always been one of Lowe's greatest gifts, that he is possessed with rare humor but also a big heart, which is what gives his music great resonance.

"This is music that doesn't merely flow smoothly; it has a grace uncommon to roots rock, partially because Lowe is deeply rooted within soul, country, pre-rock & roll pop, blues, and jazz, giving his latter-day music a real classicist feel, but it never gets sleepy due to that charming delivery and impeccable craft. As evidenced by the six-year gap between this and The Convincer, it takes time to make music as effortless and elegant as this, to construct songs this finely detailed. It takes work to sound this comfortable, so it's only appropriate that At My Age may seem unassuming upon first listen - but only seems better and deeper with each spin." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,, 4/5 stars

This 15th anniversary edition of At My Age is pressed on silver vinyl and limited to 2,000 copies worldwide. This marks the first time this long-out-of-print classic has ever been available on color vinyl.


  1. A Better Man
  2. Long Limbed Girl
  3. I Trained Her to Love Me
  4. The Club
  5. Hope for Us All
  6. People Change
  7. A Man in Love
  8. Love's Got a Lot to Answer For
  9. Rome Wasn't Built in a Day
  10. Not Too Long Ago
  11. The Other Side of the Coin
  12. Feel Again

Label: Yep Roc Records

View full details