$19.98 $0.00

+ -
Skip to product information
1 of 2



Regular price $19.98
Regular price $0.00 Sale price $19.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Add To Wishlist

Rainbow Bridge is an album by American musician Jimi Hendrix. It was the second posthumous album release by his official record company and is mostly composed of recordings Hendrix made in 1969 and 1970 after the breakup of the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Despite the cover photo and subtitle Original Motion Picture Sound Track, it does not contain any songs recorded during his concert appearance for the 1971 film Rainbow Bridge.

Continuing in the vein of The Cry of Love, the first official posthumous Hendrix album, Rainbow Bridge explores new guitar styles and textures. All the songs, except for a solo studio version of "The Star Spangled Banner," are written by Hendrix and mostly performed with Mitch Mitchell on drums and Billy Cox on bass.

The songs on Rainbow Bridge represent material in various stages of development and were never finalized or approved for release by Hendrix. Four of the songs on the album, along with the ten songs from The Cry of Love and three from War Heroes, were planned for Hendrix's followup album to the live Band of Gypsys, released in March 1970. Rainbow Bridge contains both studio and live music featuring "Star Spangled Banner" at the Record Plant in New York in March of 1969 and "Hear My Train a Comin'" recorded live at Berkeley Community Theatre.

200g Audiophile Grade Vinyl
Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
All analogue mastering by Bernie Grundman
Remastered from the original 2 track master tapes
Gatefold jacket
Features the original album artwork

Track List:

1. Dolly Dagger
2. Earth Blues
3. Pali Gap
4. Room Full of Mirrors
5. Star Spangled Banner (Record Plant, New York, NY, March 18, 1969)
6. Look Over Yonder
7. Hear My Train A Comin' (Live at Berkeley Community Theatre, Berkeley, CA)
8. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)

View full details