For listeners of The Innocence Mission, the Lancaster, PA trio are beyond a favorite band, more like a beloved companion, such is the intensity and fragility of their sound and vision, spearheaded by Karen Peris' heartbreaking, breathtaking voice. Those fans include Sufjan Stevens and Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), who have both covered innocence mission songs, and in whose company the trio deserve to be bracketed.Originally released on CD in 2003 befriended received high praise from NPR, Pitchfork, and many others. Arguably their best work, befriended is a haunting collection of songs that feature the interplay of Don Peris' gorgeously warm and shimmering electric guitars with Karen's transcendently lovely vocals and moving lyrics. Befriended has never available on vinyl in North America until now, and it includes the previously unreleased bonus track "Words of My Brother" and is pressed on Milky White colored vinyl.

Track List:

1.1 Tomorrow on the Runway
1.2 When Mac Was Swimming
1.3 I Never Knew You from the Sun
1.4 Beautiful Change
1.5 Martha Avenue Love Song
1.6 One for Sorrow, Two for Joy
1.7 No Storms Come
1.8 Sweep Down Early
1.9 Walking Around
1.10 Look for Me As You Go By
1.11 Words of My Brother (Bonus Track)

Label: Badman Records

Recently viewed