Skip to product information
1 of 3



Regular price $31.98
Regular price Sale price $31.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected 12/10/21

Steve Earle's 2009 Grammy award-winning album, Townes, is pressed on color vinyl for the first time.

Townes is Steve Earle's follow up to the Grammy® Award-winning album Washington Square Serenade. The 15-song set is comprised of songs written by Earle's friend and mentor, the late singer-songwriter, Townes Van Zandt.

The songs selected for Townes were the ones that meant the most to Earle and the ones he personally connected to. Some of the selections chosen were songs that Earle has played his entire career ("Pancho And Lefty", "Lungs", "White Freightliner Blues"). He learned the song "(Quicksilver Daydreams Of) Maria" directly from Van Zandt. Earle taught himself "Marie And Rake" specifically for making this record. Earle recorded the New York sessions solo and then added the other instruments later on in order to preserve the spirit of Van Zandt's original solo performances to the best of his recollection.

The track "Lungs" was produced and mixed by the Dust Brothers' John King, and features Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine on electric guitar.


  1. Pancho And Lefty
  2. White Freightliner Blues
  3. Colorado Girl
  4. Where I Lead Me
  5. Lungs
  6. No Place To Fall
  7. Loretta
  8. Brand New Companion
  9. Rake
  10. Delta Momma Blues
  11. Marie
  12. Don't Take It Too Bad
  13. Mr. Mudd And Mr. Gold
  14. (Quicksilver Daydreams Of) Maria
  15. To Live Is To Fly


Label: New West Records

View full details