Highly respected drummer and prolific composer Bobby Previte continues his Terminals trilogy with Rhapsody, a song cycle on the subject of transit and migration. Subtitled In Transit: Terminals II, Previte's newest work was scored for acoustic sextet and features fellow composerimprovisers in guitarist Nels Cline, harpist Zeena Parkins, pianist John Medeski, vocalist, alto saxophonist Fabian Rucker and vocalist-erhu player Jen Shyu. This latest major work, released on RareNoise Records in February 2018, comes on the heels of Previte's powerful prior RareNoise release, Mass, a nine-part work scored for choir, pip organ and heavy metal trio. Rhapsody was commissioned by the Greenfield Prize at the Hermitage Artist Retreat in Florida and had it's world premiere on April 21, 2017 at New College in Sarasota.

Track List:
1.1 Casting Off
1.2 All the World
1.3 The Lost
1.4 When I Land
2.1 The Timekeeper
2.2 Coming About
2.3 All Hands
2.4 Last Stand/Final Approach
2.5 I Arrive

Label: Rarenoise Records

Recently viewed