Vinyl LP pressing. 2018 release. Laws of Motion is part of an evolving series of collaborative projects across which Polwart has combined music and storytelling with politics and environmental-societal issues. Karine wrote A Pocket Of Wind Resistance (a Songlines and BBC Radio 3 Late Junction Album Of The Year) as a musical companion to her acclaimed theater debut Wind Resistance, now published via Faber and Faber and selected by Robert McFarlane as a Guardian Book of 2017. The production, which debuted at the Edinburgh International Festival with a residency at The Royal Lyceum Theatre, was written, musically directed and performed by Polwart, winning her the Best Music and Sound Award at the 2017 Cats. Alongside three other nominations, it also placed Polwart on the shortlist for the Best Actor 'Scottish Oscar' in the Sunday Herald Culture Awards.

Track List:

1.1 Ophelia
1.2 Laws of Motion
1.3 I Burn But I Am Not Consumed
1.4 Suitcase
1.5 Cornerstone
1.6 Matsuo's Welcome to Muckhart
1.7 Young Man on a Mountain
1.8 Crow on the Cradle
1.9 The Robin
1.10 Cassiopeia

Label: Hudson Records

Recently viewed