Vinyl LP pressing. 2018 release. Magic Ship - a reflection on the joys, follies, and oddities of existence - is the band's second album. The songs on Magic Ship distill eight years of experience since their 2010 debut album, Made the Harbor, of sights seen, pleasures had, feelings hurt, forgiveness extended. "Mountain Man share that rare, innate gift of almost supernatural harmonizing," says NPR. "Hauntingly beautiful." The trio had formed during their Vermont college years. "We all have this secret access to each other's feelings, whether or not we're singing. That is what creates the alchemy when we are singing together," says SarlA . The three musicians went in different directions after the Made the Harbor tour: Meath moved to Durham, North Carolina and eventually started Sylvan Esso. SarlA headed for a Zen center in California. Sauser-Monnig first moved to Minnesota, then to a farm in North Carolina. They eventually all ended up in North Carolina, spending time together as old friends. They reunited as a band last summer at the Eaux Claires music festival, on a tiny, cabin-like stage tucked into a forest, in front of an unusually large audience hanging on every note.

Track List:
1.1 Window
1.2 Agt
1.3 Baby Where You Are
1.4 Rang Tang Ring Toon
1.5 Stella
1.6 Blue Mountain
1.7 Moon
2.1 Boat
2.2 Whale Song
2.3 Fish
2.4 Underwear
2.5 Slow Wake Up Sunday Morning
2.6 Bright Morning Stars
2.7 Guilt

Label: Nonesuch

Recently viewed