Vinyl LP pressing. Shame, the 2017 debut full-length album from Rachel Baiman, is a work of striking importance from a fresh voice that is bound to reach many ears in the years to come. On the album's ten tracks, Baiman commands attention with songwriting prowess and a depth of presence well beyond her 27 years. The album is a thought-provoking exploration on life as a female in America, with a strong lyrical focus on social justice issues. Despite the serious subject matter, the sound of the album remains light and centers around groove-based, largely acoustic instrumentation. Produced by Andrew Marlin of Mandolin Orange, the lush and varied musical texture heard on Shame is a departure from Baiman's previous stripped-down duo work with 10 String Symphony. Baiman's vocals are arresting throughout; simultaneously rich and subdued, her husky tone and unaffected delivery pair beautifully with the record's stew of folk, alt country, and gospel sounds.

Track List:

1.1 Shame
1.2 I Could've Been Your Lover Too
1.3 Thinkin' on You
1.4 Getting Ready to Start (Getting Ready)
1.5 Wicked Spell
1.6 Something to Lose
1.7 Never Tire of the Road
1.8 Take a Stand
1.9 In the Space of a Day
1.10 Let Them Go to Heaven

Label: Free Dirt Records

Recently viewed